Curly hair – the science behind it

Hair is quite a complex matter. A hair fiber consists of three parts: Medulla, Cortex, and Cuticle (see Figure 1).

Figure 1:  Representation of a hair fiber. Three layers are present: Medulla, Cortex, and Cuticle

Figure 1: Representation of a hair fiber. Three layers are present: Medulla, Cortex, and Cuticle

The cuticle is the outer layer. It is made of Keratin (a protein) and has a protective function. This layer protects the hair against water loss and also is responsible for the appearance of the hair. The cuticle can be closed or it can be raised (see Figure 2). The preferred scenario is a closed cuticle! This way the hair can retain the moisture and will be soft. If the cuticle is raised, the hair will lose water and it will be dry and brittle.

Figure 2: States of the hair Cuticle. a) Closed Cuticle; b) Raised Cuticle

Figure 2: States of the hair Cuticle. a) Closed Cuticle; b) Raised Cuticle

The next layer is the cortex, it contains Melanin which defines the color of your hair and is responsible for the kind of hair you have – straight or curly. The inner layer is the Medulla. This layer is responsible for the hair color tones, it is generally present in long thick hair. Interestingly it is not always found in the hair shaft.

Now that you have learned the basics about the hair structure, let’s talk more specifically about curly hair.

Without the proper care wavy and curly hair is often dry and breaks.
Why is that so?

Natural sebum is produced by the sebaceous glands present on the scalp. Its function is to lubricate the hair and the skin, and to keep the moisture on it, it is our natural conditioner. The curly hair structure does not allow the migration of the natural sebum along the hair until the hair tip. The curlier the hair, less or no sebum will present further away from the roots. Then water easily evaporates and the hair becomes dry. In addition every hook is a point of weakness – the hair often breaks there.

Curly hair needs extra water and sebum to stay moisturized and strong. Sebum is composed of triglycerides, diglycerides, free fatty acids (together 50 – 60%), wax ester (20 – 30%), squalene (10 – 16%), cholesterol (2 – 4%) [1] and also vitamine E [2]. A good Leave-in Conditioner contains these components and is able to deliver and deposite them on the hair. To also act as a moisturizer a Leave-in Conditioner may contain water, water based extracts like aloe vera, or hygroscopic substances like glycerin.

The HAVANA CURLS Leave-in Conditioner has been carefully designed by including water based extracts, hygroscopic substances and a large number of other natural components that mimic the natural sebum. This complex formulation provides everything curly hair needs: moisture, softness, strength and shine.

[1]  E. Camerra, M. Ludovici, M. Galante, J.-L. Sinagra and M. Picardo. In: J. Lipid Res. 51 (2010), pp. 3377-3388.
[2] K.R. Smith and D.M. Thiboutot. In: J. Lipid Res. 49 (2008), pp. 271-281.

Copyright © 2019 | Dr. Lüderitz Natural Cosmetics - Natural products for Curly Hair

Lockige Haare – wissenschaftlich erklärt

Haare sind eine recht komplexe Angelegenheit. Jede Haarfaser besteht im Groben aus drei Schichten: Medulla (Kern), Cortex (Hülle), und Cuticula (Schuppenschicht) (siehe Abbildung 1).

Figure 1:  Representation of a hair fiber. Three layers are present: Medulla, Cortex, and Cuticle

Abbildung 1 : Darstellung einer Haarfaser mit drei Schichten: Medulla , Cortex und Cuticula

Die Cuticula ist die äußere Schicht. Sie besteht aus Keratin (ein Protein) und hat eine Schutzfunktion. Diese Schicht schützt das Haar vor dem Austrocknen und ist auch verantwortlich für das Aussehen der Haare. Die Cuticula (Schuppenschicht), kann abstehen oder flach anliegen (siehe Abbildung 2). Beim gesunden Haar liegt die Cuticula flach an und ergibt so eine glatte Oberfläche mit natürlichem Glanz. Die Feuchtigkeit bleibt im Haar und es bleibt geschmeidig. Bei abgehobener Cuticula verliert das Haar Glanz und Feuchtigkeit und wird daher trocken und spröde.

Figure 2: States of the hair Cuticle. a) Closed Cuticle; b) Raised Cuticle

Abbildung 2 : Zustand der Cuticula a) Flach anliegende Cuticula , b) Abgehobene Cuticula

Die nächste Schicht ist der Cortex, er enthält das Melanin, welches den Haaren die Farbe verleiht. Er ist auch für den Haartyp verantwortlich: glatt oder lockig. Die innere Schicht ist die Medulla, sie hat Einfluss auf den Farbton der Haare. Sie ist in der Regel in langen, dicken Haare zu finden, aber interessanterweise nicht in allen Haartypen.

Nach dieser Einführung in die Haarstruktur können wir nun lockige Haare etwas genauer betrachten.

Ohne die richtige Pflege wird lockiges und krauses Haar oft trocken und spröde. Warum ist das so?

Natürliches Sebum wird durch die Talgdrüsen auf der Kopfhaut produziert. Seine Funktion ist es, die Haare und die Haut vor Austrocknung zu bewahren und sie geschmeidig zu machen, es ist sozusagen unser natürlicher Conditioner. Bei lockigen und krausen Haaren kann das Sebum nicht so leicht an den Haaren entlang bis zur Haarspitze gelangen. Daher ist an den Haarspitzen und weiter weg von der Haarwurzel weniger oder kein Sebum vorhanden. Die Feuchtigkeit kann dann entweichen und das Haar wird trocken und spröde. Desweiteren sind die Haarkrümmungen besonders empfindlich und die Haare brechen dann oft an diesen Stellen.

Lockige und krause Haare brauchen daher zusätzlich Feuchtigkeit und Sebum. Das Sebum besteht aus Triglyceriden , Diglyceriden , freien Fettsäuren (zusammen 50-60%),   Wachs-Ester (20-30%), Squalen (10-16%), Cholesterol (2-4 %) [1] und auch Vitamin E [2]. Ein guter Leave-in Conditioner enthält diese Komponenten und ist in der Lage, diese dem Haar zuzuführen. Um auch als Feuchtigkeitsspender zu wirken, kann ein Leave-in Conditioner Wasser, wässrige Extrakte wie Aloe Vera oder hygroskopische Substanzen wie Glycerin enthalten.

Der HAVANA CURLS Leave-in Conditioner wurde als reines Naturprodukt entwickelt und enthält wässrige Extrakte, natürliche hygroskopische Substanzen und eine große Anzahl natürlicher Komponenten, welche die Funktion des Sebums übernehmen. Diese aufwendige Emulsion für lockige und krause Haare spendet Feuchtigkeit, macht die Locken geschmeidig und gibt dem Haar mehr Glanz und Kraft.

[1]  E. Camerra, M. Ludovici, M. Galante, J.-L. Sinagra and M. Picardo. In: J. Lipid Res. 51 (2010), pp. 3377-3388.
[2] K.R. Smith and D.M. Thiboutot. In: J. Lipid Res. 49 (2008), pp. 271-281.

Copyright © 2019 | Dr. Lüderitz Natural Cosmetics - Naturprodukte für lockige Haare